Elon University Convocation Liveblog: Steve Woz and the Apple story

By Abby Franklin

This year is Elon University’s 125th anniversary. To Steve Wozniak, it’s Elon’s 5 cubed anniversary.

Apple Inc. co-founder thinks differently than the rest of the world. He thinks in binary code, math and logic.

(Most recent quotes first).

  • “The first note I ever wrote was ‘Sarah, dentist, Tuesday 2 pm.’ I went in my calendar app and saw Sarah’s contact on Tuesday at 2 p.m. on my phone. I was amazed. The computer understood me. It has a sense of hearing, sight and even has a sense of GPS and I don’t even know that.”
  • “The iPhone was by far our most successful product. But it was launched into the rafters when we came up with the app store.”
  • “I went back to school and got my degree under a fake name, ‘Rocky Raccoon Clark.'”
  • “Then the company went public. The Apple 3 was a failure. Steve got thrown out of Lisa and got reassigned to my division– macintosh.”
  • “I was shaking when I told Jobs, ‘now that games are software, the whole world has changed.”
  • “Steve came back from Oregon and said, ‘let’s start a company, it’s time.'”
  • “I’ll give it to people in my club. But people were looking over my shoulder, the formula was out, this is how you make a personal computer. “
  • “Those people like Shakespeare and Newton that you remember forever, Jobs wanted to be one of those people. When people hired Steve, they knew he was onto something.”
  • “They put him (Jobs) on the night shift at Atari because no one liked working with him in the day time.”
  • “The freedom of intellectual thought and the physical energy is just amazing in college. I pulled so many pranks at Berkley. I would do anything I thought of. “
  • “Steve and I met each other on the sidewalk [Jobs]. We talked about pranks more than we talked about electronics. We became best friends.”
  • “Fewer parts is better. I kept trying to find better techniques no one else could think of. Make due with what you have. “
  • “I got good at this computer stuff without knowing it. It’s like superman stuff to communicate like this [in a computerized world].”

Leave a comment